top of page
Search

Family Friday

Updated: Apr 17, 2020

Family mealtimes can often be chaotic...rushed...hard work and exhausting (if you need confirmation of this then you're welcome to observe our mealtimes as a family!). However, despite this they can be a great time to talk to and teach our children (and remind ourselves) of truths about God.



The following post represents a suggestion for something simple that could be done at the beginning of, during, or end of a mealtime over the weekend. It could also be something that is helpful to work through, whatever our age or however long we've been a christian!


It is based on a book by Marty Machowski called ‘The Ology’.


“God Always Was and Will Always Be”


Starter Question:


1. What words would you use to describe what God is like? (could write them down on a sheet as children give their answers)

2. How old is God?


What do these verses teaches us about what God is like?


Revelation 1:8 - “I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty”.


Psalm 90:2 – “Before the mountains were brought forth, or ever you had formed the earth and the world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God.”


Statement:

One thing the Bible teaches us about God is that “God Always Was and Always Will Be”.

Another way of saying this is that “God is eternal”.


Illustration:

How did all these living things start life? (you are welcome to think of others!)


- Oak Tree (acorn)


- Frog (frogspawn)


- You (baby – could even show some pictures of them as a baby just to remind them…always good value for laughs!!)


The Bible teaches us that God has never had a beginning. He has always existed and he will always exist. God is eternal.


Pointing to Jesus’ Promises:

Jesus tells his followers something amazing in John 6:35-40…


“Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. But as I told you, you have seen me and still you do not believe. All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away. For I have come down from heaven not to do my will but to do the will of him who sent me. And this is the will of him who sent me, that I shall lose none of all those he has given me, but raise them up at the last day. For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day.”


What does Jesus promise us in these verses?


- He has everything we need (bread of life)

- Jesus came to do His Father’s Will

- Jesus will never drive away those who come to Him

- Everyone who trusts in Jesus will be given eternal life



Pray

Ask one of your children to take one of those things and give thanks to God in a simple sentence.

Then one of you pray as parents to finish your time together.

103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page